Colombia, located at the northwestern corner of South America, is the only country of the subcontinent with coasts on the Atlantic and Pacific oceans.

Colombia features a continental territory area of almost 1.15 million square kilometres and 930,000 square kilometres of territorial sea, totalling about 2,080,000 square kilometres. It shares borders with , Venezuela, Brazil, Peru and and maritime borders with , Nicaragua, Honduras, Jamaica, and Haiti.

Colombia has a flat region to the east and a mountainous region to the west where, from the Nudo de los Pastos and the Macizo Colombiano, the Andean Chain is divided into three branches: the Western Chain, the Central Chain and the Eastern Chain.

Colombia is an equatorial country, with climate determined by trade winds, humidity and altitude above sea level. Put simply, the higher the altitude, the lower the temperature.